Daily Snippet

Stupid idea that succeed

There are so many things that seemed like a stupid idea to me:

– Seinfeld: Who is this guy, really?

– Frasier: Come on, a spinoff? (So, I didn’t realize spinoffs were a thing)

– Twitter: Haiku and vanity plates for the Internet.

– Jeni’s Splendid Ice Cream: Salty Caramel, you’ve got to be kidding me. I don’t want salty ice cream.

– Arrested Development: Wait, Jason Bateman. He was so bland on The Hogan Family.

– There’s Something About Mary: Their promo seemed ripped off the Zelda commercials, or that’s how I felt.

– Blogging (Well, Live Journal): Do I really care what other people are doing?

– Scrubs: I don’t know, I just didn’t like the idea.

– Freaks and Geeks: How dare they try to explain what it was like to be adolescent me?

– McGriddles: Sausage, syrup and pancakes?

– Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Slow animals doing karate makes no sense.

Ideas I thought were stupid when I first heard them:1) eBay – people are going to buy from random people they don’t know? and bid against other people they don’t know? Auctions will be rigged and I won’t get my stuff. Stupid.

2) Netflix – they are going to send DVD’s in the mail and I am going to mail them back? And then I have to wait for it to get to me? Aren’t people going to steal the DVD’s and damage them? Won’t it cost too much for them to make a profit? Why don’t I just go to Blockbuster? Stupid.

dietrich

Cigarettes are one of the most successful consumer products on earth. Inhaling a lungful of carcinogenic smoke several hundred times a day is undoubtedly a stupid idea. Tobacco has made a small number of people incomprehensibly rich, to the great detriment of humanity.

Taken from https://news.ycombinator.com/item?id=5635437

Standard

Leave a Reply

